Soul Food

Soul Food
I try not to pour too much of my soul into what I concoct.
Because nobody likes the taste of dirt and rocks.

I wish I could be proud of what I create
But all I see are my mistakes

I think my personality is somewhat drab
My writing a cake like a marble slab

Hard to swallow and hard to chew
And always given more credit than is due

I don’t think I’ll ever learn how to be proud of what I have wrought
Of deservéd pride I have forgot

The world may be better
The world may be worse by what I have created
And though my love, my passion for writing shall not, will not, cannot be sated
I have waited and continue to wait
For the day I can be content
With what I have made
(Stop being so destructively humble)

Leave a Reply

