Mademoiselle Monster

Mademoiselle Monster
Do I scare thee?
With my black hair and brown eyes
Sharp teeth
(and sharper tongue)

I grinded my bones to make you bread, but
what did I get?
I asked for a loaf,
but received not a crumb.

Mademoiselle Monster,
calm down, calm down,

They attempt to placate me.
But I’ve had enough “peace,”
Let me speak.

Do I disgust thee?
With my empowerment
My fight for equality

Lay down your weapons:
They are useless against my bleeding pen, my bloody words.
You’ve come to slay a Beast, but
it is not me.
It is closer to you than you think.

2 thoughts on “Mademoiselle Monster

Leave a Reply

