Murmurs

via Daily Prompt: Murmuration

Murmurs
I’m learning to love myself,
I’m learning to be myself,
slowly, surely,
with all of my heart,
with all of my mind.

I’m tired of swallowing my words and
how they threaten to climb up my throat and
the way my shouts transform into murmurs.

I’m tired of folding into myself,
being soft and fragile like tissue paper,
letting others leave creases and regrets.

I’m tired of fearing what others think of me,
wishing that I would be palatable and
the one who appeals to all.

Let go of this burden,
this weight from wanting,
these expectations,
let it all go.
Let go, let go, let go.

Just be.

Leave a Reply

